Skip to main content

Possible online services disruption due to Internet related outage

A worldwide technology outage is causing disruption to some State of Illinois online systems.  We are aware of this issue and are diligently working on restoration.

Reinstate a Producer License

How to reinstate a license

All expired licenses in Illinois that are within one year of their expiration date can be reinstated through NIPR.

Any fee penalties associated with reinstatement will be assessed through NIPR and must be paid at the time of application using electronic funds transfer or credit card.

All CE credits must be up-to-date to be eligible for reinstatement.

Any licensee that is expired for longer than one year will be required to re-take all pre-licensing courses required by the type of license desired, as well as re-take all applicable exams.

The Department encourages licensees to download the NIPR mobile application.  The app allows licensees to set reminders and track eligibility and expiration dates for all license types. 

Please check out the NIPR website for more information:

Bond Requirement

An insurance producer who places insurance either directly or indirectly with an insurer with which the insurance producer does not have an agent contract must maintain in force while licensed a bond in favor of the people of the State of Illinois executed by an authorized surety company and payable to any party injured under the terms of the bond. The bond shall be continuous in form and in the amount of $2500 or 5% of the premiums brokered in the previous calendar year whichever is greater, but not to exceed $50,000 total aggregate liability. Such bond should remain at the place of business however the producer must provide the information within 3 working days after receiving a request, should the information be requested.