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Medicare supplement insurance protections for individuals terminated from
Medicaid after the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency

The purpose of this Bulletin is to provide guidance in connection with the end of the COVID-19 Public
Health Emergency (PHE) declared by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and
the monthly Medicaid terminations that took effect in Illinois beginning July 1, 2023.

During the PHE, Illinois residents were permitted to remain enrolled in Medicaid without a
redetermination of income or other eligibility requirements. This population includes individuals who
were enrolled in Medicare at the same time as Medicaid, as well as individuals who will be newly
enrolling in Medicare upon disenrollment from Medicaid. Because federal law prevented many of these
individuals from purchasing Medicare supplement insurance while enrolled in Medicaid even if they
already had Medicare, see 42 U.S.C. § 1395ss(d)(3)(B)(iii), some Medicare eligible consumers may
have missed their open enrollment period for Medicare supplement plans.

The Medicaid omnibus legislation of Public Act 103-0102, which took effect immediately on June 16,
2023 for Medicare supplement insurance, contains provisions to address both open enrollment and
guaranteed issue situations.

The provisions for a 6-month open enrollment at 215 ILCS 5/363(10) are a clarification of existing law,
which apply generally but bear emphasis during the Medicaid terminations. Individuals who enroll in
Medicare Part B at or after the age of 65 or who enroll by reason of disability at any age below 65
already must be afforded a 6-month open enrollment period for Medicare supplement insurance. See 215
ILCS 5/363(6); 50 I1l. Adm. Code 2008.74. The omnibus legislation confirms that this 6-month period is
triggered by the actual date of enrollment in Medicare Part B (or in some cases for disability, by the
actual month of notice of retroactive eligibility), not by the first date when the individual could have
enrolled in Medicare Part B.

The provisions for a 63-day guaranteed issue period at 215 ILCS 5/363(9) are a change to existing law.
They especially protect individuals who had dual enrollment in Medicare and Medicaid during the PHE.
For these individuals, subsection (9) provides a Medicare supplement guaranteed issue period of 63 days
starting from their date of Medicaid termination or, if notice was not received until after termination, 63
days from their date of notice. Please note that, if an individual enrolled in Medicare Part B shortly
before their Medicaid termination, their 6-month open enrollment for Medicare supplement insurance
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might continue beyond the 63-day guaranteed issue period depending on when exactly they enrolled in
Medicare Part B.

To avoid denying applicants guaranteed issue rights to which they are entitled by statute, issuers will
need to update their Medicare supplement application forms with pertinent questions. To help expedite
the update and Departmental approval process, the Department is providing a set of model questions that
companies may use in their application form filings:

e Have you been notified that your coverage under the state Medicaid program is terminating or
has already terminated?
Yes No

o If“Yes,” Did you still have coverage under the state Medicaid program on May 11, 2023
(the last day of the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency)?
Yes No

o Ifboth of the previous two answers were “Yes,” fill in the following dates:
= the effective date of the Medicaid coverage termination

/ /
MONTH DAY YEAR

= the date the notice of Medicaid termination was sent to you
/ /

MONTH DAY YEAR

o If at least one of the two dates was within the past 63 days, submit evidence of the date of
termination of benefits or the notice of termination under the state Medicaid program. If
you did not know that your Medicaid benefits had been terminated until you received a
denial of a claim for benefits that specified termination as the reason, you may submit the
denial letter.

Consistent with the procedure outlined in 50 Ill. Adm. Code 2008.100(a), the Department will allow
issuers either to insert their new questions into approved application forms (attaching redlines of
revisions made to the previously approved version) or to file a supplementary application form that will
be signed by the applicant and the insurance producer.

Issuers that are actively marketing Medicare supplement insurance do not need to revise their
advertising materials to comply with the new law unless their existing materials contain statements that
conflict with the law’s requirements. Any revisions to issuers’ advertisements must be filed with the
Department.

Questions about this bulletin may be directed to DOI.InfoDesk@illinois.gov.
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